Wetherby Runners make Harrogate Road Race history

Wetherby Runner Lisa Mawer
Wetherby Runner Lisa Mawer

Wetherby Runners pulled out all the stops for the final race in the Harrogate Summer Race League last week to win an historic three team trophies for the club.

The difficult race of over five miles through muddy multi-terrain conditions was was well supported by the clus close to the top of each team table, all bidding for the coveted team trophies.

Wetherby had a strong men’s veterans team out on the night which produced the winning formula and gave them points to top the table and win the trophy for the first time in the club’s history.

For the ladies, competition was equally fierce but Wetherby Lady Veterans bagged the trophy, now for the third successive year.

With third place on the night, Wetherby Ladies open team took the runner up trophy.

An excellent turnout overall for Wetherby secured a second place finish in the main ten team competition and consolidated the third place for the league overall, a best-ever main team result for the club.

The Wetherby Elites produced a superb third place result with Ben Pye, Richard Bewell and Rob Gray reinforcing a fourth place overall for the elite team.

Individually there were some great performances on the night with Ben Pye fourth and Richard Bewell sixth overall and Lisa Mawer third and Caroline Lambert fifth lady overall.

The overall Individual League champions and trophy winners will be announced shortly and another haul of silverware is expected.