Time Trial League ends with a flourish

Duncan Mullier. (S)S
Duncan Mullier. (S)S

Round 18 of the Fulford Cycles Time Trial League was the final event in the series and the four mile climb on the private road from Lofthouse to Scarhouse Dam.

The early Saturday start and distance from Harrogate and York reduced the field to 15 riders. Challengers for the win were hill specialist and Darley Head winner Paul Caswell, all round TT man Duncan Mullier, looking to regain the veterans’ title in style, record breaking schoolboy Edwyn Oliver-Evans and course record holder Greg Ketteringham.

Mullier crossed the line in 12:11, over a minute off the course record and 40 seconds down on his PB.

It wasn’t until Oliver-Evans crossed the line, swapping the road bike he set the schoolboy record on in even higher winds last year for a TT bike, in 12:52, a new schoolboy record, that Mullier’s time began to look special.

Paul Caswell, the biggest threat, was to cross the line next and pipped Oliver-Evans with a time of 12:51. Mullier’s imperious 40 second victory was sealed when Greg Ketteringham, suffering from lack of competition crossed the line in 13:38. The victory gave 41-year-old Mullier his second successive veteran title in style. Ride of the day went to Rob Senior who smashed his PB with 13:07 in fourth place.

In sixth and seventh came a brace of ex-multiple veterans’ champions, Simon Hudson recording 13:56 in sixth and super-veteran champion Tony Kent seventh with 14:05.

Tim Jarvis came home eighth in 14:14, ahead of Gordon Simpson (15:09) and Ian Caswell (15:21). In the ladies event, Alison Sarmiento took maximum points in 16:54.

The final league positions see all the 2010 champions retain their titles, Ian Fairweather the men’s with nine wins, Joanne Ketteringham (who won a straight nine) the ladies and Mullier the vets.

All the riders would like to thank Vaughan and Margaret Caswell who organised and timed every event.

Ladies placings: 1, Joanne Ketteringham 270 points; 2, Corinne Mitchell 262; 3, Alison Sarmiento 256; 4, Caroline Mullier 166.

Men’s final placings: 1, Ian Fairweather 450;2, Duncan Mullier 438;3, Nigel Goscinski 425;4, Paul Caswell 409; 5, Simon Ketteringham 404;6, Dave Morris 402;7, Tony Kent 378;8, Chris Mawer 374;9, Rob Senior 373;10 Edwyn Oliver-Evans 365.

Riders from across the district competed in the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 30mile event on Saturday.

Steve Smales, recorded a time of 1:05:09 to finish seventh. Full results on www.harrogatenova.com.