Nidderdale League: Pannal and Ouseburn hit the high notes

Killinghall's Andy Thompson.(1505024AM1)
Killinghall's Andy Thompson.(1505024AM1)

The runs flurried in the Nidderdale League on the third weekend of action as frontrunners Pannal, Killinghall, Burton Leonard and Ouseburn all collected imposing victories.

Pannal have caught the eye with their fierce batting performances in the first weeks of the season, and Matt Henry’s men did it again in a 114-run demolition job on Darley.

A century stand from openers Rob Smith (84) and Rob Ellis (55) immediately put Darley on the back foot. Additional contributions from Andrew Taylor (32), John Strover (25) and Ollie Driver (26) took Pannal to 264-7 from their 45 overs.

Overseas Noushad Babu (28) hit two sixes in a short burst at he top of Darley’s order, but wickets tumbled and the away side were bowled out for 150, Graham Fish leading the attack with 3-30.

Sam Dale’s spectacular 169 crashed reigning winners Ouseburn to 332-8 at home to helpless Helperby.

Dale was supported by Sam Parker (58) and Jamie Bryant (62) along the route to his special knock. Atish Chouhan (3-89) was the best of the Helperby bowlers in an expensive 10 over stint. And the overseas man (50) was the only player to put up any resistance to Ouse’s rampant attack, with David Cummings’ 6-12 bowling Helperby out for just 108.

Killinghall made Spofforth’s total of 209 look elementary with a six-wicket win. Patrick Gannon hit 70 at the top of the order for Spoff with Matt Williams’ 4-41 the pick of Killinghall’s bowling.

Williams then returned after the tea interval to fire an impeccable run-a-ball century to lead his side’s successful chase. Simon Williams also added a valuable 39 from 78 balls.

Burton Leonard took a six-wicket win from a high-scoring thriller against Blubberhouses to move into third place. Blubbs’ captain Lee Platts (105no) looked to have led his side to a winning score of 264-7 with a century in an innings that also saw Leonard’s Nicky Smith take 5-73.

But half centuries from Ben Robinson (71) and Dan Thirkell (66) put Leonard on the victory charge before Tom Rowlay’s ten boundaries completed the job in a 31-ball 45 not out.

Hampsthwaite got their season up and running with a first win of the season. Lenny McKittrick’s half century took Hamps’ to 222-6 in a rain-shortened contest before Alne were ousted for 178, Rob Proudley (54) topscoring.

Newby Hall continue to find it hard to adjust to life in Division One after losing by nine wickets at Bishop Thornton.

Thornton shared the wickets around as Newby only made 113 before Josh Davies’ quick-fire 61 not out won the match in the 14th over.


Division One: Killinghall 212/4 bt Spofforth 209ao; Ouseburn 332/8 bt Helperby 108ao; Pannal 264/7 bt Darley 150ao; Bishop Thornton 114/1 bt Newby Hall 113ao; Burton Leonard 268/4 bt Blubberhouses 264/7; Hampsthwaite 222/6 bt Alne 178ao

Division Two: Birstwith 193/4 bt Knaresborough Forest 189/7; Lofthouse and Middlesmoor 243ao bt Dacre Banks 156ao; Studley Royal 164/1 bt Ripley 163/8; Goldsborough 146/9 bt Ripon 91ao; Scotton 199/6 bt Pateley Bridge 147/9;

Masham 205/5 bt West Tanfield 203/4

Division Three: Sharow 116/1 bt Galphay and Winksley 113/9; Bishop Monkton 234/5 bt Rainton 230/6; Thornton-le-Moor 232/8 bt Harrogate 209ao; Bolton Abbey 225/4 abdn with Markington; Raskelf 110/1 bt Pannal 108/6; Whixley 194/7 bt Burnt Yates 176/9

Division Four: Middleham 184/6 bt Helperby 183/7; Wath and Melmerby 141/5 bt Blubberhouses 138ao; Birstwith  114ao bt Masham 162/9; Killinghall 118/1 bt Kirkby Malzeard 117ao; Ouseburn 267/5 bt Alne 265/4

Division Five: Ripley 172/7 bt Newby Hall 171/7; Thornton Watlass 196/5 bt Pateley Bridge 192/9; North Stainley 132/4 bt Spennithorne and Harmby 130ao; Studley Royal 234/7 bt Bishop Thornton 169/9; Crakehall 240/7 bt Boroughbridge and Staveley 239/6

Division Six: Spofforth 255/8 bt Pannal 77ao; Newton-le-Willows 166/4 bt Goldsborough 162/6; Knaresborough Forest 227/9 bt Raskelf 137ao; Arthington 181/7 bt Harrogate 180/5; Sessay 148/5 bt Pannal Ash 146/3; Little Ribston bye with Sharow

Division Seven: Darley 197/6 bt Bolton Abbey 196/6; Marton-cum-Grafton 271/5 bt Burnt Yates 102ao; Middleham 231ao bt Studley Royal 45ao; Scotton 161ao bt Dacre Banks 62ao; Thirsk 50/2 bt West Tanfield 48ao; Boroughbridge and Staveley 166/8 bt Ripley 112ao; Burton Leonard 2nds 232-6 bt Glasshouses 231-6

Division Eight: North Stainley 220/6 bt Thirsk 216/3; Ouseburn  bye with Hampsthwaite; Beckwithshaw 106/7 bt Helperby 105/9; Knaresborough Forest 160/6 bt Arthington 139ao; Newby Hall bye with Bedale; Rainton 269/8 bt Birstwith  186/9

Division Nine: Wath and Melmerby 222/9 bt Whixley 219/8; Ripon 54/1 bt Ripley 53ao


Division One: Alne v Pannal; Blubberhouses v Ouseburn; Killinghall v Bishop Thornton; Spofforth v Burton Leonard; Darley v Helperby; Newby Hall v Hampsthwaite

Division Two: Studley Royal 2s v Ripon 2s; Knaresborough Forest v Lofthouse and Middlesmoor; Masham v Pateley Bridge; Dacre Banks v West Tanfield; Goldsborough v Scotton; Ripley v Birstwith

Division Three: Markington v Rainton; Raskelf v Bolton Abbey; Harrogate 3s v Galphay and Winksley; Burnt Yates v Sharow; Bishop Monkton v Thornton-le-Moor; Pannal 2s v Whixley

Division Four: Hampsthwaite 2s v Killinghall 2s; Birstwith 2s v South Kilvington; Wath and Melmerby v Kirkby Malzeard; Ouseburn 2s v Masham 2s; Middleham v Blubberhouses 2s; Helperby 2s v Alne 2s;

Division Five: Boroughbridge and Staveley v Studley Royal 3s; Bishop Thornton 2s v Spennithorne and Harmby; Thornton Watlass v Glasshouses; Pateley Bridge 2s v Crakehall; North Stainley v Ripley 2s; Burton Leonard 2s v Newby Hall 2s

Division Six: Pannal 3s v Raskelf 2s; Newton-le-Willows v Knaresborough Forest 2s; Sharow 2s v Harrogate 4s; Pannal Ash v Little Ribston; Sessay 3s v Goldsborough 2s; Arthington v Spofforth 2s

Division Seven: Marton-cum-Grafton v Boroughbridge and Staveley 2s; West Tanfield 2s v Burnt Yates 2s; Thirsk 2s v Dacre Banks 2s; Scotton 2s v Darley 2s; Studley Royal 4s v Ripley 3s; Bolton Abbey 2s v Middleham 2s

Division Eight: Knaresborough Forest 3s v North Stainley 2s; Hampsthwaite 3s v Helperby 3s; Rainton 2s v Beckwithshaw 3s; Birstwith 3s v Thirsk 3s; Bedale 2s v Ouseburn 3s; Newby Hall 3s v Arthington 2s

Division Nine: Little Ribston 2s v Burton Leonard 3s; Ripon 3s v Wath and Melmerby 2s; Whixley 2s v Ripley 4s