Ketteringham retains crown in fine style

Fulford Time Trial Ladies champion Joanne Ketteringham. (S)
Fulford Time Trial Ladies champion Joanne Ketteringham. (S)
Share this article

joanne Ketteringham retained her ladies Fulford Time Trial crown at Event 19, the two-laps of the Milby-Cundal-Norton-le-Clay-Milby circuit.

She earned her second ladies’ league title in style with a win in 49:05, 1:12 ahead of nearest rival and team-mate Corinne Mitchell.

Alison Sarmiento recorded 52:58 in third and Caroline Mullier 60:36 in fourth. Joanne has now won the title in consecutive years both with the maximum nine wins.

This year however, she has claimed the title without being beaten and taking four ladies’ records in the process. There are still seven events left for her to add to that tally.

In the men’s event, Yorkshire Road Club’s defending champion Ian Fairweather drew within two wins of the perfect nine wins too.

Despite having to briefly dismount after being stung by a bee he still managed to win in a time of 40:59, but would have been thankful it wasn’t a swarm as Nova’s Duncan Mullier was only 25 seconds behind.

The win would have catapulted Mullier over Yorkshire Velo’s Nigel Goscinski and into the lead in the vet’s title hunt but second place, 30 seconds ahead of Goscinski, was enough to close the gap to two points in Goscinski’s favour.

The two have now been trading punches for the last few weeks neither managing to beat the other for two weeks running. Nova’s impressive Dave Morris was 25 seconds back and ahead of Paul Caswell (43:11) and Simon Ketteringham (43:45), Chris Mawer (43:51). Newcomer Ian Burkinshaw came 8th in 44:13 ahead of the weekly Senior/Shacklock battle.

Rob Senior (44:50) of Nova pipped Yorkshire Road Club’s Mike Shacklock by eight seconds. The next event is 15 miles from Boroughbridge to Walshford and back.

The previous weekend several local riders enjoyed excellent conditions in the VTTA 25 mile time trial. Ian Fairweather was seventh with 53:05, ahead of Boneshakers’ Oliver Pearce, producing a personal best at 25 miles, with 53:29.

Duncan Mullier also produced a pb in 12th with 54:44. Nova duo, Simon Hudson and Ian Peacock came home in 56:33 and 56:35 respectively.