Ketteringham breaks ladies record for third straight title

Ladies champion Joanne Ketteringham.
Ladies champion Joanne Ketteringham.

Event 14 of the Fulford Cycles TT league was a return to the out and back from Arkendale to Walshford.

A stiff headwind out made it a difficult night but Nova’s Joanne Ketteringham broke the ladies’ record with 25:08 and was crowned champion for the third straight time.

Clifton CC’s Jill Crane, who managed a magnificent 217 miles a few days before in the 12 Hour Championships, was second with 26:88, ahead of Nova’s Corinne Mitchell, Alison Sarmiento and Lyndsey Watson.

Boneshakers’ Steve Smales continued the regular pattern of win and course record with 21:33 with Nova’s Duncan Mullier (22:39) and National 60s champion Tony Kent (23:21).

The weekend’s action saw both Joanne Ketteringham and Duncan Mullier post 25 mile PBs in the 120 strong field of the Drighlington 25 with 1:01:09 (3rd lady) and 54:21 (5th man).

Tony Kent achieved 56:13 and Ian Peacock 59:06. Steve Smales competed in the prestigious Rudy Project National TT Vets’ series.

Smales added a second place in the Worcester event to go with his second places at Bassenthwaite and Doncaster to bring him to second in the series behind ex-pro Julian Ramsbottom.

Full results can be found at