Cricket: Nidderdale League Presentation Night

Another summer of Nidderdale League cricket was celebrated in style at the Cairn Hotel in Harrogate on Friday night.

Division One winners Hampsthwaite received the championship trophy, while Darley’s Joe Furniss received the Player of the Year award from league sponsor Simon Theakston.

hsb  Nidderdale League Presentation Evening and Annual Dinner. Division One winners Hampsthwaite.   (121116M5g)

hsb Nidderdale League Presentation Evening and Annual Dinner. Division One winners Hampsthwaite. (121116M5g)

League secretary Tricia Heard was also honoured with life membership to the Nidderdale League for all her years of loyal service.

Steve Raper of Alne picked up the Hospitality Award.

Guest of honour on the night was former Leicestershire and England wicketkeeper and batsman Paul Nixon.

Winners were as follows:


Division One: Hampsthwaite

Division Two: Masham

Division Three: Galphay and Winksley

Division Four: Scotton

Division Five: Alne

Division Six: Wath and Melmerby

Division Seven: Little Ribston

Division Eight: Scotton

Division Nine: Little Ribston

Evening League: Rainton


Division One Andrew Taylor Hampsthwaite 64.70

Division Two David Kelly Newby Hall 83.30

Division Three Mark Kinghorn Ouseburn 66.67

Division Four Jeff Pickles Scotton 71.43

Division Five James Braddon Ripley 66.50

Division Six Robert Hodgeson Bolton Abbey 119.25

Division Seven Neil Newlove Ouseburn 85.38

Division Eight Mark Morrell Killinghall 71.00

Division Nine Ian Hilton Sharow 53.40


Division One Dawood Waqas Blubberhouses 10.41 (44)

Division Two Ross Sands Darley 10.77 (26)

Division Three Paul Ainsley Kirkby Malzeard 9.66 (32)

Division Four Henry Worrall Bishop Monkton 11.00 (27)

Division Five Andy Marston Studley Royal 5.75 (40)

Division Six Dan Harris Wath & Melmerby 6.80 (35)

Division Seven Martin Hings Arthington 7.81(27)

Division Eight Gavin Hardisty Middleham 8.16 (25)

Division Nine Wayne Gosling Studley Royal 3.79 (14)

Wicket Keeping (Catches and Stumpings)

Division One Chris Beaumont Alne 32

Division Two Andrew Burn Raskelf 21

Division Three Neil Todd Galphay & Winksley 22

Division Four Alex Holliday Birstwith 13

Division Five Ben Johnstone Sharow 15

Division Six Alistair Lunn Raskelf 7

Division Seven Chris Eckford Dacre Banks 15

Division Eight Vince Heslop Staveley 9

Division Nine Robert Fawcett Little Ribston 6

Willis Trophies – Best Performance of the Season

Batting Michael Rees Masham 235

Bowling Josh Cutts Killinghall 7-14

Players Of The Month


July Andrew Cullen Bishop Thornton average of 99.5

August Richard Moss Ripon total of 135 runs

September Michael Rees Masham 405 runs, not out


July Rod Macaulay Pannal 4th average of 4.38

August John Fawcett Spofforth average of 8.25

September Lee Lyon Little Ribston average of 6.29

Theakston Nidderdale League Player Of The Season - Joe Furniss Darley

Theakson Nidderdale League Hospitality Award - Alne Cricket Club

Lords International has once again kindly provided shirts for all Knockout Cup Winners.

Atkinson Swires Cup Blubberhouses

Barrett Cup Pateley Bridge

Wath Cup Boroughbridge

Peter Bentley Cup Newton-le-Willows

Crawfurd-Porter - Sportsmanship

Division 1 Burton Leonard

Division 2 Pateley Bridge

Division 3 Killinghall

Division 4 Birstwith

Division 5 Pateley Bridge

Division 6 Knaresborough Forest

Division 7 West Tanfield

Division 8 Ripon

Division 9 Studley Royal

Ground Marks Awards

Division 1 Alne

Division 2 Raskelf

Division 3 Ouseburn

Division 4 Birstwith

Division 5 Spofforth

Division 6 Helperby

Division 7 Arthington

Division 8 Bishop Monkton (hosts for Burton Leonard 3rds)

Division 9 Wath and Melmerby

Most Improved Raskelf