Burton celebrate CB Atkinson glory

Burton Leonard.
Burton Leonard.

BURTON Leonard are the 2011 Harrogate Evening League CB Atkinson Cup champions after a resounding 81-run victory over Ripley on Monday night.

The one-sided affair saw Leonard dominate in all disiplines.

Batting first they got off to a strong start after losing opener Paul Emmaunual early for five.

Number three James Townsend (76) and Danny Thirkell (68) put on 136 for the second wicket as Neil Blaken’s men went off like a train.

Some later order hitting by Sam Crompton (24no) saw Leonard up to a competitive 184-4 with Ripley’s bowlers getting the treatment at Follifoot.

Rich Canham was the pick of the bowlers, taking 2-32.

In reply Ian Winwood top scored with 41 but crucial wickets at the right time stopped any Ripley comeback.

Tom Rowlay (2-24), Mark Fox (2-21) and Thirkell (3-5) did most of the damage as Ripley were all out for 103.

Back in the Nidderdale First Division, Leonard welcome Birstwith tomorrow.

Elsewhere MASHAM will be looking to pull clear of the relegation places when they welcome Blubberhouses.

For more Nidderdale Cricket League news see inside.