Tour de Yorkshire start and finish times are revealed

The highly anticipated start and finish times for the Tour de Yorkshire have been revealed, along with the ceremonial start routes.

Thursday, 24th March 2016, 3:30 pm
Updated Thursday, 24th March 2016, 4:24 pm
The 2015 Tour de Yorkshire.

Cycling fever is set to return to the district when the peloton passes through Wetherby, Knaresborough, Ripley and Pateley Bridge for Stage One of the race next month.

Millions of spectators are expected to line the route of the three day men’s race and one day women’s race, which runs between Friday, April 29 and Sunday, May 1.

Stage One of the Tour de Yorkshire will begin at 11.50am in Beverley on the Friday. Key points along the route include the first sprint point at Bubwith at 1.06pm, Wetherby at 2.09pm, Knaresborough at 2.22pm, Ripley at 2.36pm, then the first King of the Mountain (KoM) point at Greenhow Hill, Pateley Bridge, at 3.02pm. From there riders will visit Grassington at 3.20pm, before completing a circuit through Giggleswick and the stage finale at Settle at 4.26pm.

Saturday’s Stage Two marks an important milestone for the Tour de Yorkshire as spectators will be treated to two hugely significant races.

The Women’s Tour de Yorkshire will begin in Otley, home of women’s road World Champion Lizzie Armitstead, at 8.15am. Riders will find an early Queen of the Mountain point at Harewood Bank, near Harewood House, which saw the Royal Family officially start the Tour de France’s Grand Depart in 2014. From Harewood it’s on to East Rigton at 8.56am and Scholes at 9.09am, before eventually crossing the finish line in Doncaster at 11.59am.

The men’s race will tackle the same stage from Otley to Doncaster in the afternoon. Sprint and KoM points are also the same. The men’s peloton will start in Otley at 2.20pm, before reaching Harewood Bank at 2.44pm and finishing in Doncaster at 5.23pm.

Stage Three will begin at 11.10am on Sunday in Middlesbrough. Key points along the route include a sprint at Thirsk at 12.51pm, the first KoM at Sutton Bank at 1.06pm and a sprint at Whitby at 3.06pm, before crossing the line in Scarborough at 4.25pm.

A full schedule and race timings can be viewed at