RESULTS: North Yorkshire County Council election 2017

The count took place at the Harrogate Convention Centre
The count took place at the Harrogate Convention Centre

The Conservative Party has retained control of the council, gaining five seats across our district as UKIP lost its only seat.

All 18 seats across our district were contested, with the Conservative Party securing 16 of them, as the Liberal Democrats held and gained the other two.

Successful Conservative candidates Zoe Metcalfe and Nicola Wilson ensured the party gained both seats in Knaresborough from the Liberal Democrats, with Lib Dem candidates David Goode and James Monaghan unable to keep the seats previously held by the party's Bill Hoult and Anne Jones.

Conservative candidate Steven Haslam and Lib Dem Geoff Webber were elected to the Harrogate Bilton & Nidd Gorge seats.

The seats were previously held by Independent and UKIP councillors.

Conservative Stuart Martin has been elected to represent Ripon South, replacing Independent Peter Horton.

Mr Martin said: “I am going to Madagascar on Wednesday for my charity TASC, the Tossing a Starfish charity, which is a real passion of mine. We work with the Adsum Foundation to fund schools to be built over there.

"When I am back, I am going to be out speaking to the electorate who raised concerns on the doorstep when I was out campaigning.

"I promised that I would go back and speak to them. I am looking forward to representing Ripon and getting started."

In a further Conservative gain, Conservative Andrew John Paraskos has been elected to represent the Ainsty division.

Mr Paraskos said: "I am ecstatic to have been elected and pleased that it went well. We put a lot of work into the campaign. I have been attending a lot of parish council meetings in the build up to this, and the issue everybody keeps raising is potholes. North Yorkshire County Council are doing a good job working on them at the moment, but I am keen to get involved and help."

Elsewhere, the Conservatives held on to 11 seats, with John Mann elected to the Harrogate Central seat previously held by Jean Butterfield, who did not run. Harrogate Borough Council leader Richard Cooper held his county council seat.

Mr Mann said: "Harrogate Borough Council is taking forward a master plan which I will be looking forward to seeing develop and get involved in. I want to look at highways issues and I also have a real interest in education. I run a small business, and I am really interested in finance."

Stan Lumley held the Conservative seat in Pateley Bridge. Responding to the result, he said: “I am really thrilled to have been elected - you put your neck on the block and you don’t know what’s going to happen until the crosses are counted.

“I am very pleased to represent the place where I love living and have grown up in. I have a hard act to follow in John Fort who has been doing a great job for the last 20 years, but I am very pleased to be able to carry on his legacy."

In Ripon North, Conservative Mike Chambers held onto the seat previously occupied by Bernard Bateman, who did not run.

Michael Harrison held his Lower Nidderdale and Bishop Monkton seat, and Margaret Atkinson held the seat in Masham and Fountains.

She responded to the result: "I am delighted to have been elected, it's a vast rural area that I cover and we've put a lot of time and effort into the campaign.

"There are 15 parish councils in the area and I do attend as many of the meetings as I can. At the meetings there have been a lot of complaints about the state of the roads which we have to do something about.

"It's not about me, I raise the issues of the people that I represent and follow them up.

"I want to thank everybody who has helped me and supported me over the course of the campaign."

In Pannal and Lower Wharfedale, Cliff Trotter held the seat.

Don Mackenzie held his Harrogate Saltergate seat. He said: "I would like to thank my opponent for their very clean election fight, my wife Penny and my daughter Kate and to the electors of Saltergate who have elected me for the third time, each time with an increased majority and that makes me feel very humble indeed."

James Clark held his Harrogate Harlow seat, in front of his watching six-month-old grandson, while John Ennis also held his Harrogate Oatlands seat.

The Lib Dems held Harrogate Starbeck, with Philip Broadbank elected to the council.

Mr Broadbank said: "In the long term I want to look at the relief road when it comes up, and the threat to the green belt. Potholes I want to look, as the state of some of our roads is just appalling. I am thrilled to have been elected, and I look forward to continuing to represent the people of Starbeck, who I really want to thank for their great support."

Robert Windass held his seat in Boroughbridge. He said: “I will work hard for everybody in the ward, regardless of the political party they voted for. I am still pushing hard for broadband in some of the rural patches I cover.

"I look forward to addressing some of the highways issues including potholes. Some of the roads really need some work.

"I am delighted that the electorate have placed their confidence in me to represent them."

The majority party will meet next week to elect a Leader, who will then nominate portfolio holders for the Executive. The newly-elected council will meet for the first time on Wednesday 17th May, when members will be asked to ratify the names of the Leader, Deputy Leader, and Executive Members.

Turnout was 36.25 per cent, up from the 33.15 per cent turnout in 2013.

Elected: Andrew John Paraskos
Con gain
Turnout: 39.57&

Elected; Robert Windass
Con hold
Turnout: 35.9%

Harrogate Bilton and Nidd Gorge
Elected: Steven Haslam
Con gain

Harrogate Bilton and Nidd Gorge
Elected: Geoff Webber
Lib Dem gain
Turnout: 33.99%

Harrogate Central
Elected: Richard Cooper
Con hold

Harrogate Central
Elected: John Mann
Con hold
Turnout: 30.19%

Harrogate Harlow
Elected: Jim Clark
Con hold
Turnout: 38.4%

Harrogate Oatlands
Elected: John Radcliffe Ennis
Con hold
Turnout: 43.87%

Harrogate Saltergate
Elected: Donald Mackenzie
Con hold
Turnout: 35.07%

Harrogate Starbeck
Elected: Philip Broadbank
Lib Dem hold
Turnout: 31.8%

Elected: Zoe Estelle Hartley-Metcalfe
Con gain

Elected: Nicola Jayne Wilson
Con gain
Turnout: 37.41%

Masham and Fountains
Elected: Margaret Edna Atkinson
Con hold
Turnout: 37.2%

Lower Nidderdale and Bishop Monkton
Elected: Michael Harrison
Con hold
Turnout: 36.2%

Pannal and Lower Wharfedale
Elected: Cliff Trotter
Con hold
Turnout: 39.61%

Pateley Bridge
Elected; Stanley Lumley
Con hold
Turnout: 42.28%

Ripon North
Elected: Michael Geoffrey Chambers
Con hold
Turnout: 34.83%

Ripon South
Elected: Stuart Martin
Con gain

Turnout: 34.36%