Former council leader resigns over ill health

Melva Steckles, who has resigned both her council seats. (S)
Melva Steckles, who has resigned both her council seats. (S)
Share this article

A FORMER leader of Richmondshire District Council has stepped down as a borough and county councillor for health reasons.

Coun Melva Steckles was elected to the district council in 2007, becoming leader later that year. During that time she served as chairman of the Strategy Board and more recently she has acted as spokesperson on prosperous communities – which includes economic development, tourism, regeneration and life-long learning.

She announced her resignation with immediate effect as both a district and a North Yorkshire county councillor last week.

She said: “I have always felt very proud to have been elected by local people to represent them as a councillor on both the district and county council.

“Sadly, I need to take time away from my council commitments to deal with some new treatment which means I am no longer able to give the time and energy needed.

“I am honoured to have been able to carry out this important job on behalf of local people and hope to continue my voluntary work in my retirement from public office.

“I would like to thank my colleagues from both councils, friends and family for their support.”

There will be by-elections on May 3 for her seats:

l the Hornby Castle ward of the district council (Appleton East and West, Arrathorne, Brough with St Giles, Hornby, Hunton, and Tunstall); and

l the Central Richmondshire division of North Yorkshire County Council (Scotton, Colburn, Hipswell, and St Martins).

Polling stations are expected to be in Colburn, Hipswell, Richmond Station, Hunton, Tunstall and Scotton.

The Notice of Election was due to be posted yesterday, March 27, after the North Yorkshire News went to press, with nominations closing at noon on April 4.

Postal vote applications close at 5pm on April 18 along with registrations to vote. Applications to vote by proxy will be accepted until 5pm on April 25. For more information call the district council’s election team on 01748 829100.