Ripon club motors on into its 104th year

Award winners at the Ripon Motor Club event.
Award winners at the Ripon Motor Club event.

Ripon Motor Club has celebrated another successful year with its annual dinner , awards presentation and dance.

The event was held at Millstones Restaurant at Felliscliffe, near Harrogate, on Saturday, January 26, where 120 guests and award winners who had battled the snow gathered.

The club’s history stretches back to 1909 and from humble origins has survived two world wars, the latter almost closing the books on the organisation until British Trials Expert winner Tom Ellis opened his motorcycle shop on High Skellgate in Ripon.

Mr Ellis turned his attention to reviving the motor cycle sporting activities of the club and top quality trials were held which attracted such top riders as Malcolm Rathmell, Bill Wilkinson, Ray Sayer and Artie Ratcliffe.

In the early-60s the club also turned to scrambles at Hutton Conyers and those events attracted spectators from far and wide. Murray Walker and Denis Parkinson commentated on one BBC televised event which went out on the airwaves live.

Last year the club staged ten trials which in total attracted 1,034 competitors from the ages of four- to 70-years-old

The Acklams Motorcycles Summer Championship series alone brought in almost 900 contestants in the seven qualifying trials. The events include special categories for young riders and beginners.

The popular Harrogate car and motorcycle dealer has signified their intention on sponsoring the club’s 13th consecutive Summer Championship series.

l At Saturday’s event, a raffle was held which raised £200 that will increase the club’s annual charity donation fund.


J L Ellis Trial –First novice: Sam Yeadon (Boston Spa); Third 50/50 course: Stuart Blythe (Melmerby); Third Clubman: James Langstaff (Kirklington).

Derek Lickers Memorial Trial – Winner : Sam Yeadon (Boston Spa); First Expert: Joel Sadler (Harrogate); Speed Trophy First Clubman: Mark Yeadon (Boston Spa); Third 50/50 course: Stuart Blythe (Melmerby); First Youth Class A: Sam Johnson (Skelding); First Youth Class B: Tom Geldart (Pateley Bridge); Second Youth Class B: Ben Goddard (Folifoot).

Artie Ratcliffe Vase Trial – winner: David Mawer (Kirkby Malzeard).

Geoff Fletcher Trophy: First Novice: Richard Shepherd (Fellbeck); Second Youth Class A: Tom Geldart (Pateley Bridge);

Third Youth Class A: Aldis Blacker (Boroughbridge).